intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

Do you blog anonymously or as yourself?

I blog as myself rather than anonymously – although I started doing so just by default. I’ve gotten used to most of my life being on the internet and it was only months into blogging (probably when I posted about the libido fairy) that I thought “hmm, maybe I dont want everyone knowing who I am and where I live and what I eat for breakfast”. But its a bit late now!

I know lots of people who use pseudonyms to blog as well as nicknames for their kids – and I think its smart. I’m not planning on starting over again so that I can do the same though. I don’t think I write about anything that would cause my kids great embarrassment later in life, and I also think I should have leeway to write about my life and my experiences (even when it includes innocent 3rd parties).

Do you blog anonymously or as yourself? And why?

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Do you blog anonymously or as yourself?

  1. I blog as myself, and I don’t follow many blogs that are anonymous. When I think of anonymous bloggers I think of Abby Lee from ‘A girl with a one-tracked mind’. I understand why she wanted to be anonymous but I’m not interesting and cool enough to need to be that private. If I embarrass my kid, well too bad, what kid isn’t embarrassed because of parents! I don’t say anything too bad or put pictures of him going toilet on the internet!

  2. I blog as myself. I didn’t really think about it until earlier in the year, but by then I figured it doesn’t bother me too much.
    Though some days I wish it was anonymous so that I could have a huge rant about things (specifically related to people I know), but then those people would probably know it was me anyway so there’s not much point 😉

  3. I have always used my real name when online.

    I have tried to blog anonymously but then forget the nicknames I gave people or the logon etc – it is just easier to do it as me.

    The only thing that makes anon blogging appealing is that I would be able to share my thoughts on my MIL :-p

  4. Yep I am ME, always have been and always will be. I think people are only anonymous when they are uncomfortable about their opinions and/or want to say things about people which they couldn’t or wouldn’t say to them. I try not to be like that or do that anyway. If someone overheard me talking about them I like to think that what I was saying would be truthful and something I’d be willing to tell them anyway…

  5. I started as Jenty cos that was my intention, but it was so damn tricky that I forgot all about it in the first few weeks. Life’s too short for hassles like that

  6. I blog as myself, I think, still new in this and battling my way through a few obstacles! I do this to reflect and look back in a few years and with my memory as it isbat the mo there is no way I will remember the nicks!!!!

  7. I blog as myself, although I did get freaked out, deleted my blog and considered starting over fresh BUT I just couldn’t let it go.
    So alas I am still here 🙂

  8. Pingback: Blog changes ahead « intermittentblogger

Leave a Reply

