intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

Things I’m loving this week…

Things I’m loving this week (linking from PaisleyJade 🙂 )…

1. Life of Pi. I know I am way behind the rest of the world on this, but I found it at the library and absolutely loved it – not loving the lack of sleep that it caused because I enjoyed it so much I sat up late and read it in 2 days… but what a great book!

2. My mooncup. ’nuff said.

3. Last, but definitely not least, my sister. Sisters rock! I was a teeny bit sad having a boy because I would have loved the Diva to have a sister – the bond between same sex siblings is definitely different to that of different sex siblings. This week my sister wrote me a love letter on her blog… which made me cry. We are SO different and when we were young these differences meant we were constantly fighting – the nasty biting, scratching, hair-pulling kind of fighting. I thought she was very odd – and that she was being odd just to piss me off. Now I think she is amazing and gorgeous and talented… and odd… but wonderfully odd :). I am so sad that we’ve only appreciated each other properly since living on different continents! One day I’ll have saved up all my pennies and will arrive on her doorstep for a long weekend. And she can meet my babies. *sob*

Single Post Navigation

21 thoughts on “Things I’m loving this week…

  1. Awwww your sisters letter to you was so lovely!!
    I am one of 3 and my siblings are both brothers, I always wished I had a sister!

  2. Lovely blog post from your sister.
    I have a sister too, its great.

  3. That poem is brilliant despite the fact your sister uses big words that I don’t know. Wow. She really is super clever. Her art is awesome too.
    I have 4 sisters lucky me and totally get what you mean about not appreciating each other while we were young. Now we hang out and have great relationships.

  4. Oh and I’ve never actually met anyone who uses an actual moon cup before!
    Or quite possibly I have, but they didn’t tell me about it. Cool

  5. Tristan on said:

    Lara is more awesome in her oddness than conan and spiderman combined. and i find that since we have all spread ourselves across the globe, most of my relationships are better (i would now kill for mom as opposed to just wanting to kill her).

    and as for your mooncup. the more i talk to women and find out about all these weird advancements, the more im glad to have a penis so doctors only become interested in sticking things in my after i turn 40. nuff said…

  6. Oh my god I totally love lovefest week, lets do this monthly, like mooncups, but at least two weeks later so its more {love} fest less {heavy metal} fest.

  7. Love ‘Life of Pi’ – not surprised it kept you up late!

    Your sister’s letter is awesome. I miss my sister, too, but she’s only in Australia, so not quite so far away. Far enough, though. We never fought with each other, but ganged up on our big brother all the time. Things change when siblings leave home though, you really do appreciate them so much more.

  8. Awww how sweet! I only have a brother. I longed for a sister as a child.

    I have never taken the plunge to use a mooncup. I am seriously considering it though

  9. That book sounds awesome. I’ve downloaded it from my library to read. Thanks for the tip 🙂

  10. I love your list – and I always wanted to have a sister!!! Beautiful pics. xoxo

  11. Aw. You guys are so uniquely odd and awesome. x

  12. Hurray for sisters! Mine lives in the UK and here I am in NZ 😦 It’s been 4 years… and counting since we last saw each other. We had a lot of fun growing up and are totally different. We too have appreciated each other more as we’ve grown. We lead completely different lives and are both in awe of each other with great respect for the paths in life we’ve individually chosen. Gorgeous collage of photographs 🙂

  13. I personally can not get my head around the moon cup concept.

    It sucks when family is so far apart 😦

  14. I am Mooncup user too! Newly converted thanks to hearing about it on a blog.
    Your sister sounds crazy ha ha
    Love that you are appreciating her and that your relationship is good now

Leave a Reply

