intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

Dr Seuss Topsy Turvy Cake

First, a disclaimer: I love to bake, but my aim is usually just to make something that tastes fantastic. This time I wanted to make something that also looked good – but I’ve never used fondant icing before… so, this is an amateur cake!

For DestructaBoy’s 1st Birthday we’ve gone with a Dr Seuss theme and I wanted to do a topsy turvy cake.

I used my friend Mika’s chocolate cake recipe (below) and a buttercream icing recipe I’d found on sugarlane and adapted a little (also below). Between the cakes is a layer of caramel and they are then topped with fondant icing and fondant fish that I made during the week.

the cakes - notice me looking less than impressed in the reflection... I was contemplating how big a job this would be!

starting with the bottom cake

carving the top cake

carved and covered in buttercream icing

getting some help from hubby

top cake with fondant fish

the final product

Chocolate Cake

Beat for at least 5 minutes:
300g sugar (1.5 cups)
4 eggs
half tsp vanilla

Mix well:
30g cocoa (3 heaped dessert spoons)
3/4 cup boiling water

Add the following to egg & sugar mixture and beat well:
1and1/4 cup flour
3 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 cup oil
1/2 tsp salt

Then add hot cocoa and beat well.

Bake in two 20cm baking pans or one small roasting pan for about 25 mins at 180 C

Chocolate Buttercream Icing

300gr butter

3 Tablespoons of milk

2 teaspoons of vanilla

1/2 cup of un-sweetened cocoa powder

200gr dark chocolate

1kg bag of Powdered Sugar (I ended up not using all of it)

Mix the butter (softened), milk,. vanilla, and cocoa powder in the mixer until thoughly mixed.

Melt the Chocolate in the microwave in 30 second intervals until melted

Once the chocolate is melted you then add it to the other ingredients that are in the mixer

Then finally add the powdered sugar a little at a time to the mixer making sure that you allow it to mix throughly

Single Post Navigation

26 thoughts on “Dr Seuss Topsy Turvy Cake

  1. Hey, it looks great! I am just getting supplies in to attempt a fire engine cake, if mine is nearly as good as this I will be very happy indeed 🙂

  2. shakira on said:

    Wow that is stunning!!! Well done!

  3. Cheryl on said:

    Absolutely stunning, I beat Emmett and the kids (and the adults too) loved it, it looks delicious! I am in the process of tryingt o pick which Dora cake I am going to male for Sophie next month, this will also be my first attempt with fondant icing so could be interesting :o)

  4. You should be WELL proud of yourself. Good luck on topping his 2nd Birthday Cake – you’ve set the bar way too high!
    Happy Birthday Emmett!

  5. it is gorgeous – ♥ it, I want one

    • Thanks Barb! We didn’t have you close by this time and I didn’t want to make him a plain old cake after you made Isabella the gorgeous Bumblebee cake for her first birthday :). Glad you like it!

  6. Wow! It came out fantastically….I love it 🙂

  7. Very, very impressive! He is one lucky boy.

    May I ask how many hours work were involved? 😉

    • Thanks Greta! Hours, well… I only have 2 cake tins so there was about 6 hours of making cake, cooling cake, cleaning cake tin and repeating.

      Then waiting for the buttercream frosting to set. Then a couple of hours for the fondant. And maybe another hour or two finishing off with little balls of fondant and the lettering. A LOT. Would have been worth paying someone else to do it… but I was proud to have done it myself 🙂

      • Brilliant! I am so pleased to hear that. I would have struggled to like you, if you had said 3 hours (joking!) – as it took me a good six hours to make Miss M’s using fondant icing and store brought sponge.

        Such a rewarding thing to do too. I hope you slept well that night 🙂

        Oh, and I hope Emmett had a super birthday and enjoyed the cake!

      • Mwahahahahaha… I sure did sleep well! It was a fantastic party and he just about inhaled one of the fondant fish.

  8. A FANTASTIC Cake!!! Well done!!!…..

  9. T it came out awesome!!! Well well done!!!!

  10. Francene on said:

    For a first time great job! I love the fish, they look so much like the one on the cartoon…lol

  11. Francene on said:

    BTW are you planning on working with fondant again? You may have found a new skill and apparently you have artistic skills, the fish shows it

Leave a Reply

