intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

Keep? or Return?

Yesterday at the Warehouse I bought 4 large clear boxes, all stacked together. Busy with the kids and a full trolley of shopping, I picked up the stack, paid, got to the car and then when putting them into the car I saw a computer game between two of the boxes.

Horrified at the thought of having inadvertently “stolen” something I hurried back into the store. It felt like an episode of candid camera… all the way back to the store I was waiting for a security guard to come hurrying out looking for the “thief”.

When I got to the counter and handed it to the man behind the desk he seemed a bit surprised. It made me wonder how many people would have had the same response I did to finding something they hadn’t paid for in amongst their shopping. What would you have done?

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Keep? or Return?

  1. Bron on said:

    Absolutely would have taken it back. Anything else is theft. It’s really pretty cut and dried and it’s disappointing that anyone would consider it ok to keep it. It’s like seeing someone drop a wallet and then allowing them to walk off before gleefully claiming it as your own. :-p
    Good on you for taking it back.

    • I felt like a thief just walking between the car and the store carrying it. I’m rather glad it was something I had no wish to won otherwise I’d have felt resentful as well as dishonest 🙂

    • Own that is, not won. Gosh… too early

      On Mon, Jul 25, 2011 at 8:37 AM, Tanya Johnson wrote:

      > I felt like a thief just walking between the car and the store carrying it. > I’m rather glad it was something I had no wish to won otherwise I’d have > felt resentful as well as dishonest 🙂 > >

      • Bron on said:

        Too early for you too late for me.
        It’s 20 to 11 and I must sleep NOW, since I must be up early to get to work early so I can come back to town at 10:00 for visa appointment and then get back out to work. Bit of a pest really…
        But first a hot bath. It’s chilly as heck here. South Easter is blowing up a gale. Cloud is pouring over the mountain and my flat is leaking cold air.
        I am boiling a hot water bottle so my bed will be nice and toasty when I get into it. It’s a black fuzzy one you gave me 🙂
        Welcome to the day! And good night 😉

  2. I’d totally have taken it back – my conscience is hyperactive. The other day we were at a shop and I was carrying E and he was moaning so I gave him something to hold (that I wanted to buy) to keep him busy. Well.. we forgot about it at the till and it was only on my way out the door that I remembered when he hit me over the head with it.. so back we went to the tills again (which were pretty busy) and paid for it.

  3. I would definitely have taken it back. It has happened 2 or 3 times before that when I get home I find a chocolate or something small in my bags that my kids have dropped in my bag, lol in that case I havent taken it back.

Leave a Reply

