intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

Misunderstandings this early in the morning

So the SA vs Kiwi accent thing has caused a few misunderstandings over the last 3 years but none as funny as the one this morning.

I was driving the kids to daycare when the Diva pipes up from the back seat “Mum, DestructaBoy has a normal willy and I have a different willy”.

I was thinking, wow, its a bit early in the morning for these conversations. I haven’t even had a cup of tea yet and we’re leaping into the birds and the bees.

So I say “no Diva, you don’t have a willy, you have a vagina”.

Well… this indignant yell comes back at me “NO MUM!!!! It’s a HAT, just a HAT!”. She meant “woolly”, not “willy”, and yes indeed, DestructaBoy had a normal woolly hat on and she had a rather odd woolly hat on.

*sigh*

Some mornings you just cant win!

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Misunderstandings this early in the morning

  1. oh PMSL!!!!!!! this is one for the scrapbook!!!

  2. Hilarious! Love it. I bet it will make you smile all day 😀

  3. Russ on said:

    Very funny Tanya, thanks for the laugh…and to Belle too…

  4. LOL, awesome!

  5. Bron on said:

    I just hooted with laughter, so loudly I think I might have woken up my neighbours. that’s priceless 🙂

  6. Mark Johnson on said:

    That is an absolute corker! Thanks T … I was chewing bricks and looking for something to hurt when I read that; now I am still chuckling. Give the Belle a big hug from me and have one yourself xxx

  7. bwahahahahaa that’s hilare! I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t understand their own child because of accents..

  8. That is SO funny Tanya!!!
    I’m having a good laugh 🙂

  9. Oh you gave me such a giggle

  10. Man that’s funny! 🙂

Leave a Reply

