intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

How do you decide who to be friends with?

Post a Day 2011 topic #136 is how do you decide who to be friends with?

See, a few years ago I’d have said I choose friends who:

1. Read.

2. LOVE good food

3. Have strong opinions, even if they don’t agree with mine

4. Are low maintenance. I hate those “you didn’t remember XXX anniversary” or the “you haven’t called in 3 days” conversations.

5. Are open-minded

Now… pretty much anyone will do, as long as they aren’t a raving bigot. The more friends the merrier.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “How do you decide who to be friends with?

  1. mwahaha, I love that you are serious about it… Those are mostly my pre-baby requirements too, now if you breathe, are low-maintenance and are interested in my life – we’re friends lol!

    • Hell yeah! Funny how things change, hey? My changes are mostly because of moving countries rather than having kids. Having kids adds a “must tolerate my children” to the list. They don’t have to like them… just tolerate them πŸ™‚

  2. LOL I nearly failed that spec on item 1. πŸ™‚

  3. Did it matter what they read?

  4. Bron on said:

    Ah. I see now that my fetish for Mills and Boon and my incredible appreciation of MacD was what brought us together.
    Ps – one day i promise I will reply to that email you sent. Things are still vile right now. It’s 23:00 and here I sit, writing endless emails to the frigging builders, after flying back from Jhb this evening. One day I will have a life again, but not right now. Tomorrow I go to the ophthalmologist to check out a growth on my eye. Think it is harmless but am sh!tting myself that i might have to have it cut out under local anesthetic. Gah! x fingers…

  5. lol Love the list πŸ™‚ I fail on pt 1. I love to read – just no time lol. Honestly I can count my friends on one hand right now. And honestly? I like it that way. I know who I can can count on when I need to!

Leave a Reply

