intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

Happy birthday to me

Woohoo… finally 30! Its funny, I’ve felt 30 for at least the last 10 years 😛

How awesome is this birthday cake?

I’m feeling very spoiled already, even though I haven’t yet opened my gifts. My sister, knowing my fascination with all the weird and wonderful edible things in America, sent me a box full of wrapped presents and food. So breakfast this morning is Twinkies! And my Mum sent 2 enormous packages over the last month which I was told not to open until today. So I am really looking forward to this evening 🙂

I’m considering spoiling myself too, with a Kindle or a Nook. But before I do, any recommendations from someone who has one? Is it a good buy or do you regret it? Its very extravagant… so I’ll probably just daydream about it forever.

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “Happy birthday to me

  1. Happy Birthday Sweets!!

  2. Happy happy bday!
    My kindle rocks the party that rocks the party!!!!

  3. janet on said:

    Get a kindle. You won’t regret it. Promise!

  4. Ok, firstly – 30?!?!?! Welcome to this side of the hill!

    My thoughts on nook vs kindle are biased 😛 I LOVE the Nook. Seriously – it’s the Ipad without the price tag. The only downside so far is needing a US billing address to buy books from Barnes and Noble. That being said you can buy from any other ebook seller.

    I hope you have a wonderful day 🙂

  5. Cheryl Mac on said:

    Love that cake. Looks cute and very yummy.
    Have a fantastic birthday T. Sounds like you were spoilt already, why not add a Kindle to the spoiling. Hubbie bought one, and once he has gotten through his books and I am finished with my exams I want to claim it but it looks like it may be difficult.

  6. Mark Johnson on said:

    More birthday wishes – have a special day!

    Love the Kindle. Cheryl got one for Christmas … lucky me!

  7. Bron on said:

    I have no idea what the Nook is like. I love my Kindle. I have the 3g version. The internet browsing is extremely clunky – but that’s not what the device is aimed at, it’s just an extra. I also haven’t bought any e-books yet. I think they are a bit expensive, especially from SA. I just got a whole lot of books in pdf format and popped them onto the Kindle using usb.
    Bear in mind that you should really get a case too. I don’t have one and I live in fear that one day I will open my bag and the Kindle screen will be broken. I think the case prices are expensive.

    I certainly think you deserve whichever one you decide on. When last did you spoil yourself with a decent present?

    • Good to hear you love it! I think I may keep my eyes peeled for a 2nd hand Nook and see if one comes up. I like the thought of having full web browsing available because I read so many blogs it’d be useful

      • Bron on said:

        I presume you have read the wiki page on the Nook? Had interesting things like – if you want root access to install software for Nook apps then you need one from 2010 onwards.
        Go for it! You are such a bookworm that you NEEEEED one 😀

      • Ooh, I hadnt read it yet but think I’d better!

  8. Happy Birthday!!! I can’t believe you are only 30… :O All the best for a really great day and year ahead.

    And kindle – do it! I don’t know about the nook but we downloaded the kindle on the ipad and I love it and it is cheaper than buying books and so light. I love it.

    I am loving my thirties. I hope you do too!

    x

Leave a Reply

