intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

Q&A

LatteJunkie tagged me in her Q&A post (thanks Cyndi!) and I’m always game for these things so here are my answers…

Which living person do you most admire, and why?

Richard Branson – I like his entrepreneurial spirit and his attitude

When were you happiest?

05 August 2010 – 01 December 2010. I was on maternity leave with DestructaBoy and though the financial stress was rough on the family I loved every minute of being home with him. I was completely selfish and spent loads of time doing nothing more than enjoying my baby. Bliss!

What was your most embarrassing moment?

Most recently, the Diva very loudly exclaiming “Mommy, why is that lady so fat?” about a woman well within earshot (and also, NOT fat) and then following it up with “I think she has a baby in her tummy!” while I was trying to shush her.

Aside from property, what’s the most expensive thing you’ve bought? 

My first NZ car – a charcoal grey Suzuki Swift – loved it!

What is your most treasured possession?

My iPhone? My books? My PVR?

Where would you like to live?

Somewhere closer to family, less wet than NZ but with the same safety, better job opportunities and closer to the rest of the world so that travel is cheaper.

What’s your favorite smell?

Love the smell of vanilla

Who would play you in the film of your life?

In my wildest dreams – Natalie Portman. More reasonably, Nia Vardalos.

What is your favorite book?

Only one? You must be joking! American Gods by Neil Gaiman, or The Dark Tower series by Stephen King, or She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb, or The Time Travellers Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, or Tandia by Bryce Courtenay, or Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins… far too many to choose from.

What is your most unappealing habit? 

Cutting my toenails in the lounge whilst watching TV

What would be your fancy dress costume of choice?

Whilst I have some curves I wouldn’t mind doing a Bridget Jones…


What is your earliest memory? 

Swimming with my sister when we lived in Durban – in one of those horrible old fashioned Bentley Belt things

What is your guiltiest pleasure?

I’m not guilty about most of my pleasures – maybe the cookies and cream icecream I have most nights covered liberally in melted caramello chocolate

What do you owe your parents?

Oooh, hard question. I owe my mother an unmeasurable amount of love and respect. When I was a teen I *knew* that raising us under the circumstances she did was hard. But as an adult working and trying to make ends meet for my own family I have a much greater understanding of the pressure she was under and the sacrifices she made to get us through it. The repercussions for her will be permanent and I hope that I will be able to look after her when she needs it.

I owe my father love for who he is, not who I grew up wishing he was. I owe him forgiveness. And I owe him thanks for the easy relationship we have now and the loves we have in common that make it an easy relationship (things like good food, books, music, technology… )

To whom would you most like to say sorry, and why?

To my daughter for being impatient and quick to find fault with the very things that make her the special little person that she is.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?

My family is the greatest love of my life – I cant imagine life without any one of them

What does love feel like?

Love feels like a well-worn pair of favourite shoes. Like Sunday afternoons reading quietly, enjoying each others company but not needing to talk. Like ‘couple-speak’ where single words or phrases make sense only to you and no one else understands what’s so funny. Like a shared history that goes back far enough that you no longer remember what life was like before you met.

What was the best kiss of your life?

None of your business.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
Will you just give me one minute

Ja

Just now

No

Would you like a time out to go with that attitude?

You have two choices…

What is the worst job you’ve done?

Web design at a small family business where the boss used to throw telephones at employees and kick stereos through windows when he was in a bad mood (and pay rises were so small they were given as coins in an envelope, you know… because “to give you more would put you into the next tax bracket and you’d actually end up with less money”… only we weren’t paid enough to qualify for any tax bracket at all).

If you could edit your past, what would you change?

I’d live in a foreign country before settling down and having children.

What is the closest you’ve come to death?

Not applicable. I don’t remember ever being in any sort of accident, have never so much as broken a bone (besides my coccyx on a balance beam and whilst I may have felt like I was dying I wasn’t :P).

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Emigrating in a very short timeframe and emerging with our relationship intact 😛

When did you last cry, and why?

Last night when DestructaBoy woke for the 5th/6th/7th/8th/9th time.

How do you relax?

Reading, blogging, hot baths, watching mindless TV programs.

What single thing would improve the quality of your life?

A bedroom for DestructaBoy.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

To just keep doing the next “right” thing

So, on to you, I nominate…

Colleen

The Frumpy Housewife

Pink Hair Girl

Sandi

Harassed Mom

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Q&A

  1. Pingback: Questions, and some answers too. « The Frumpy Housewife

  2. I enjoy these 🙂

    Will do mine as soon as I can!

  3. I haven’t the first clue about tagging so I’ll just tell you…

    I replied HERE!

    http://alifestrangerthanfiction.wordpress.com/2011/05/04/oh-bugger-she-threw-down-the-gauntlet/

  4. Pingback: She asked – I answered « Harassed Mom

  5. Pingback: I Want to Brag A Minute « intermittentblogger

Leave a Reply

