intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

Everything is better with bacon

Fancy that – post a day 2011 has a topic about bacon… I’m going to limit myself to 10 minutes on this one because I could quite easily wax lyrical about bacon for days. I LOVE bacon… crispy is better and I especially love bacon fat (I know, its gross but I can’t help it).

My current favourite recipe using bacon is this one for potato scones, I’ve amended it just slightly…

Potato Scones

Ingredients
2 medium to large potatoes
1 egg
1 sheet ready rolled puff pastry
3 tbsp milk
1 heaped cup grated cheese
1 spring onion finely chopped
4 slices of bacon
Salt
Pepper

Method
First peel the potatoes and boil them until they are cooked. Then mash lightly with milk and set aside to cool.

Get your pastry sheet out, so it thaws in time.

Turn the oven to 180°C

Chop and fry the bacon.

If you don’t have or don’t like spring onion you can use half a finely chopped brown onion.

Add the egg and cheese to the mashed potato then season with salt and pepper and add the onion and bacon/ham.

This is the filling and it’s ready to put together.

Put the filling mixture on a sheet of pastry and spread it evenly over all the sheet except for a strip 2cm wide along one edge. Brush this strip with a little milk, then roll up the pastry and filling from the side furtherest from the milk-brushed strip towards it.

Cut the rolls of pastry and filling into slices about 2.5 cm thick.

Cover your tray with baking paper (the fat from the cheese will leak). Lay the rolls on it and brush with egg/milk.

Bake for 20 mins.

Enjoy!!

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Everything is better with bacon

  1. mmmm BACON rocks!! It is the only reason I could never be fully vegetarian… Must try this recipe 😀 Thanks for sharing!

  2. Between the cheesecake and this bacon extravaganza, you’re not being very helpful with my weightloss!

  3. Kirsty on said:

    Oh yum, I am so trying this recipe over the weekend! Thanks for sharing it 🙂

  4. Oh that would be me 🙂 So pleased you like and added more bacon. I have also made them with a pinch of cayenne pepper too and it was good! I also tried them with feta and tomato at the weekend. You can find my link here… http://babbleandsnaps.wordpress.com/2011/02/11/potato-scone-slap-in-the-face/

    Also, I think I am cooking them a bit longer now as making them a bit fatter.

    Enjoy your Easter break!

  5. That sounds so good! Think I will try making them over the weekend.

  6. Mmmmmm! Bacon! Ice cream and bacon! Biscuits and bacon! Bacon with cupcakes! Bacon milkshakes!

Leave a Reply

