intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

The biggest risk I’ve ever taken

The biggest risk I’ve ever taken is probably something I shouldn’t be admitting on the internet. You know the saying “fake it ’till you make it”?

Well the biggest risk I’ve ever taken was getting a job as a web designer when I’d never so much as looked at HTML before and was an internet newbie. Thank god for Google (and the fact that any monkey can learn HTML in an hour).

I spent a few years designing and building websites before moving into project management and sometimes I still feel like I’m faking it. Funny how no amount of experience and qualifications can take that feeling away.

What was the biggest risk you’ve ever taken?

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “The biggest risk I’ve ever taken

  1. I’ve done that with almost every role I’ve taken on… in some way or another… and it’s worked out so far

  2. I had a mantra in my twenties, it went like this, “Do one thing every day that scares you” it served me well in all sorts of situations. As long as you take the steps to learn what you need to perform your role – then why not? πŸ˜‰

  3. Bronwyn on said:

    Funny how some of the people who are best at their jobs still feel uncertain. And it makes a great contrast to those twits who know nothing but think they are King of The Industry. Haven’t we all worked with a few of those πŸ˜‰
    Biggest risk? Maybe upping and moving to Cape Town with no friends, no family, and only having spent about 6 days there in my life.

  4. Ok I never actually googled it but I cant get html – lol – so am I a monkey :-p

    I took the biggest risk 2 weeks ago when I resigned πŸ™‚

  5. Our biggest risk was moving to NZ completely blind. We winged it and it worked out great.

Leave a Reply

