intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

My Mother is on Facebook

My mother is on Facebook. So is my father, my grandmother, and rather a lot of my extended family.

There’s nowhere to hide really. Since I discovered the internet my whole life has been online, partly because I spend my working day online and then come home and use the internet to relax and also because we are far from family so tools like Facebook, Youtube, and Photobucket are the easiest way to keep in touch.

I’m lucky that my relationship with my family is very open anyway (god forbid if it weren’t) but it made me wonder how people manage with friend requests and the like coming from family members. Is your mother on Facebook? And if she is do you censor what you post?

P.s. Love you Mom! πŸ™‚

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “My Mother is on Facebook

  1. Barb on said:

    I dont have the mother problem, my MIL used to be on FB though, all my siblings are and my niece and nephew. So i do censor a little I suppose but not hectically – I am beige that way =P, my posts are pretty much suitable for all consumption.

  2. My mom and mom in law are both on.
    Quite frankly I am who I am and if they dont like it then they dont have to read it.
    My mom cant stand me swearing, well fuck that, I swear.
    My mom in law cannot inderstand why I would put naked belly pics of my pregnancy up, well I say she should just be grateful that FB wont allow breast feeding shots cause those would go up too.
    I love them both dearly but hey, this is me, and I appologise to no one πŸ˜‰

    • Haha, I’d deliberately bait them. I have breastfeeding pics on Facebook… just haven’t been caught yet :P. My aunt thinks I shouldn’t have any photographs of my children on Facebook because they are going to be stolen by pedophiles – it wasn’t worth talking to her about privacy settings and that if any pedophile sees my children’s pics on FB its because they’re also on my friends list in which case I have bigger problems than them looking at my photos.

  3. My mum stalks me on FB, i have to be so careful what i say now. Gone are the days i swear or post rude comments hehe. But its great for posting pics of my wee girl as they are in the UK and were here in NZ.

  4. LOL my mom is on Facebook, and she blogs πŸ™‚
    And so are all my siblings, and my aunts and uncles… and they all follow all my blogs too, which has been interesting at times πŸ™‚

  5. My mother has only just mastered the VCR… there is no immediate threat of her signing up to FaceBook or the likes, so for now, my online life is safe. πŸ™‚ She does know about FaceBook, and has asked me to use “that internet face thing” on occasion to send someone a message.

  6. Bronwyn on said:

    I would LOVE it if my Mom were on FB, because that would mean she was internet savvy enough that I didn’t have to respond to all her emails for her :-/

    My Dad used to be on FB. He set himself up a profile so he could be in contact with me while I travelled. Then a bunch of his friends found it and before he knew what was happenening he was sucked in totally πŸ˜€
    I thought it was really cool!

  7. I recently set up a family only FB page!

    My mom isnt online but my extended family are and I hate them in my business so I defriended them all and that led to drama so I created a new page for them to go to – its now just them and I can choose what I want to share with them! Mainly arb stuff about the kids etc!

    My mom knows about my blog but so far I dont think she knows WHERE it is although I am sure if she asked she would find it since it feeds to my FB page where my family were!

    I do, as a result, censor some of my posts regarding family – will either password protect or make them vague!

  8. Michelle on said:

    My mother’s on Facebook, but I have to help her use it. πŸ˜‰

    I don’t censor anything I post on Facebook, mainly because I am so boring I don’t need to (I don’t even swear in real life!). Everything is suitable for family viewing.

Leave a Reply

