intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

How long do you think you could go without a shower?

Good old Post a Day 2011 – the topics can be a bit, erm, odd. Anyway, today is “How long do you think you could go without a shower?”

I reckon I’d make about 4 days before I’d want to climb out of my own skin. Its not so much the body washing as the hair washing – having greasy hair really creeps me out.

Which reminds me. In high school girls used to stick baby powder in their hair to get them an extra day or two without having to wash their hair… blegh!

So, how long could you go?

Did you know: The modern domestic shower was invented in the early 1800s (via wikipedia). For hundreds of years before that, in most of the world, people went their entire lives without ever taking a shower (and even today some of your coworkers probably still don’t shower enough).

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “How long do you think you could go without a shower?

  1. Barb on said:

    hmmm not sure I think it depends on the weather – in heat a day no longer in cold 3 days max I think for the same reason as you, cannot handle greasy hair.

  2. Bronwyn on said:

    Gah. I have used the baby powder thing before. But not as a means of delaying a shower. Every now and then my hair does this thing where I go to bed and it is FINE. Then during the night fairies visit and pour motor oil on my head. If I don’t have time for a shower in the morning, then baby powder it has to be. It works, but it is horrible and only to be used as a last resort. 😦

  3. Amelia on said:

    I have been apart of a Gap Year type organisation when I lived in S.A for 2 years…. We did Crazy fun things…. and part of the experience was “poverty week” where we were dropped out in the bush with 10 items, including everything we were wearing…. (one sock was 1 item)… and we had to fend for ourselves,were given 1 chicken (live) and 1/4 loaf of bread per person, per day… I went without a shower for a whole week…..It was pretty gross… but we are all dirty and smelly so wasnt too bad….In saying that…. I dont think I would do it again in a hurry!

Leave a Reply

