intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

The next 5 books I want to read

I love reading! I can’t fall asleep if I haven’t read, even if its only a few pages and I’m always on the lookout for new books to read. I used to buy books regularly and we brought 36 boxes of them over to NZ when we moved (crazy, I know, but I just couldn’t part with them!). Now I get my books from the library or bookclub both of which are well stocked.

I think the next 5 on my “must read soon” list are:

1. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

2. She’s Coming Undone by Wally Lamb

3. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest by Stieg Larsson – I have loved the first two in the series now just need to get my hands on the last book!

4. Night by Elie Wiesel

5. A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry

Any recommendations I can add to my list?

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “The next 5 books I want to read

  1. “Louder than words” by Jenny McCarthy ~ true story of a mothers fight to beat autism.
    “Falling Leaves” by Adeline Yen Mah ~ true story of a unwanted chinese girl.
    I read both quite recently and enjoyed both πŸ™‚

  2. “Dear Fatty” by Dawn French. I really enjoyed it

    We brought over 5 boxes of books and 2 of DVDs when we left the UK… so 7 out of the 15 were for reading/watching πŸ˜€

  3. Ooooohhhh me too!!!! I love reading!!! I hadn’t heard of some of these so will now investigate. One of my favourite books is Water for Elephants – can’t remember the author but brilliant, brilliant book. Incredibly moving. I think they are now making it into a movie. Oh you have inspired me – I will have to do a post about great books now as there are so many I could list here. I will keep you posted πŸ™‚

  4. And yes, Dear Fatty is hilarious and sad. I loved it. We actually listened to it on a big trip down South. It was a fantastic. I wasn’t sure about audio books but it worked a treat on our trip – was great!

  5. And yes, Dear Fatty is hilarious and sad. I loved it. We actually listened to it on a big trip down South. It was a fantastic. I wasn’t sure about audio books but it worked a treat on our trip – was great!

  6. I am just about to get into “The girl who kicked the hornets nest”… 1st two were fabulous…. I hope I wont be disapointed…

    Have you read any Lee Child- Jack Reacher series?

  7. Have only read the Wally Lamb one – I enjoyed reading it but it is not one of those easy to read gripping stories, it has a slow flow to it.

  8. Michelle on said:

    No good suggestions off the top of my head (you’ve probably read a lot more than I have, by the sounds of things!) but “Night” was a brilliant read. I read it a few times, and it’s one of those ones that sticks with you afterward.

Leave a Reply

