intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

People who annoy me

NaBloPoMo had a prompt last week that – “Think about someone who annoys you. Write a list of everything you don’t like about them, and then write a list of all the things that you’re grateful that they’ve shown you about yourself”.

Mine isn’t about one particular person, more a personality trait that drives me crazy.

Why is it that some people will keep making the same mistakes over and over and over again and each time seem to think that doing the same thing will get them a different result? It really seems crazy to me.

I think smart is learning from your mistakes and not repeating them (smarter is learning from other people’s mistakes and not feeling the pain yourself at all). But there are people in my life that seem destined to stay in the same loop of unfortunate choice after unfortunate choice and keep having to be helped out of the mess they get stuck in (not by us thank heavens but its frustrating just to watch).

Stupidity should hurt.

What have they shown me about myself? Well, that I’m quite judgemental for a start! I try not to let on that I think they’re being dumb but I’ve never been known for my poker face. Also that I am very lucky. The mistakes I’ve made so far have all been fairly inconsequential and while I’d like to think its due to superior judgement, I know a lot of it is likely just dumb luck.

I wish these friends and family members would stop dating losers, stop buying stuff they cant afford, do a job when they’ve signed up for it and treat themselves and those around them with a little more respect… but if wishes were horses then beggars would ride.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “People who annoy me

  1. I have a friend who keeps dating teenagers (eg 18 or 19…first year of uni) or girls in their very early 20s. And every single time he is astonished that they don’t want to commit to a long term, intense relationship. Hello! Seriously. Trying to point out where he is going wrong is like banging my head against a brick wall.

    It has taught me not to speak to him about girls. haha 😛

  2. I am beige in that way =P, I prefer to learn from other peoples mistakes and hurts than get hurt myself. And I also dont get the brainless drive to bump your own head – especially when it it repetitive.

  3. I have a few friends that don’t seem to learn from their mistakes either and it grates me. I know it makes me judgemental too but hell….if something isn’t working then change what you are doing?

  4. I get annoyed by the “victims”. The “I don’t know why it always happens to me” people.

    I am all for wallowing for a while but then you get up off the couch dust off the chocolate wrappers and snotty tissues, eject the chick flick DVD and LEARN from your mistakes…

    And don’t get me started on the people who a victims because something was done to their forefathers! Move on people!

  5. Pingback: 100th post « intermittentblogger

Leave a Reply

