intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

What tech cant you live without?

Monday night's sleep graph - my kid is lucky he's so cute...

Another Post a Day 2011 topic asks “what tech can’t you live without?”

My most recent favourite piece of technology is an iPhone application gifted to me by a friend. It’s the Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock, an alarm clock that analyzes your sleep patterns and wakes you when you’re in the lightest sleep phase. It’s super smart, using the accelerometer in your iPhone to detect movement and determine which sleep phase you’re in. Most useful to me though isn’t the alarm function but the graph it keeps showing your sleep patterns. It either lets me know I’ve had more sleep than I thought I had – i.e. quit being such a whiny pain in the ass – or confirms that I have in fact had a terrible night. Either way when I check the graph in the morning I sound like I have Tourettes!

My only gripe with it is that it keeps a tally of how many hours sleep you got that night and an average – only it counts from when you turned it on to when you turned it off instead of calculating how much of that time you were actually asleep. Nothing like seeing “8 hours sleep” when you were up 4 times during those 8 hours for a half hour each time. Grrr!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “What tech cant you live without?

  1. Bronwyn on said:

    Hmm, I want one of those. (Need iPhone first, I guess.) It would be so useful.
    I couldn’t live without the integrated modem laptop. Internet everywhere. Once I booked an air ticket online from the side of the road in the middle of the Karoo as I drove from CT to Jhb. Awesomeness!
    Ooh, and my camera. I’m a photo pest.

Leave a Reply

