intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

Day 27 → What’s the best thing going for you right now?

Day 27 → What’s the best thing going for you right now?

The best thing we have going for us right now is our move out of South Africa. Don’t get me wrong, there is a lot I miss about SA but moving countries has opened up a whole new world for us… and now that we’ve moved countries once I might like to do it another couple of times, just for the experience.

We’ve been exposed to a new country, new climate, new culture and we’ve had to make it on our own with no support system in place. And it’s been crazy and exciting and scary and wonderful all at once. We plan to stay here at the very least until I have citizenship (DH and the kids have British & Irish passports but I only have an SA passport and would like a 2nd option) and then we may find another interesting country to live in for a couple of years. Maybe even a non-English speaking country 🙂

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 27 → What’s the best thing going for you right now?

  1. It’s amazing what a new culture can do for you. As much as I disliked the UK I appreciate what I learnt there and experienced there. NZ is wonderful and I think it will always be home but now I have been of trying out Hong Kong…

    Just don’t tell anyone 🙂 I may be taken seriously 🙂

    • What did you dislike about the UK? I think Hong Kong would be fascinating :). I wouldn’t mind heading to LA to be near my sister for a year or two and then somewhere exotic… Thailand, Malaysia…

      • The UK was wonderful for culture, theatre, “oldness” and meeting new friends but the continual grey and dark from 3 in winter made me miserable.

        We also moved there in the dead of Winter and it made the adjustment very VERY hard. Think 34C Cape Town to -4C London. I think that if I went back now I would do better, but I love it here too much to try 😀

      • Yeah I’m not sure I could deal with the length of winter there – never mind the severity of the cold. We deliberately moved to NZ in winter thinking that we’d get all the horrible moving stuff out the way and then it would start warming up and we could enjoy the place we’d moved to. Not sure if it worked or not but it was a decent theory!

Leave a Reply

