intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

Day 19 → What do you think of religion?

Day 19 → What do you think of religion?

Meh.

Ok, guess I have to answer in more than one word.

I’m not a fan of religion. I’m lucky to have parents who don’t mind one bit what religion their children follow and were happy to encourage experimentation so I got to experience a few different religions. If I had to identify with any single one it would be secular paganism. Or atheism if I’m in a bad mood (and I know, I know, its not really a religion).

I don’t believe in an omniscient being and I don’t subscribe to the belief that the religious have cornered the market on morality. I’d like to think that people can have a strong sense of morality and do the “right” thing regardless of their religious beliefs.

Our children will be exposed to as many different faiths as we have access to and they can choose what they want to believe (or not). I hope my distrust of organised religion doesn’t influence them too much.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 19 → What do you think of religion?

  1. Susan Sackinger on said:

    Do you feel that your family’s lack of commitment to a specific religion influenced you in your non-faith?

    Have you considered that the concept of god can be personal to you and can have nothing to do with the rest of the world? That’s the way I lean.

    Religion is really a structure set upon a group of people to require them to believe the same set of things. Since my faith (I call it Samahdi Monist) suggests that it is important you believe differently than anyone else, religion is anathema to faith. You can read about my faith in my blog, but don’t bother believing in it. Some bits are pretty good but the whole of it is just one person’s view.

    • My parents have their religious beliefs, they simply chose not to make such important choices on our behalf. When we were too little to have much of an opinion either way we accompanied them to church. So I wouldn’t call it a lack of commitment to a specific religion, more an unwillingness to commit on someone else’s behalf – and for that I am grateful. I think their viewpoint has allowed me to learn as much as I can about any faith that interests me secure in the knowledge that my choices will be supported whether or not they align with my parents own religious beliefs. I’d like to read more about your faith but you haven’t left a link to your blog – post a link?

      • It’s interesting I will also be forever grateful for my mother that taught me that I was not defined by any religion and allowed me the freedom to explore and discover the things that would serve me and discard the things that did not.

        Thanx for sharing, it’s nice to see there are some free thinkers left in the world 😉

Leave a Reply

