intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

Day 16 → Someone or something you definitely could live without

Day 16 → Someone or something you definitely could live without

This may be a bit of an unusual one, but I could do without reading bad news involving children. Since having kids I’m overly sensitive to anything bad happening to a child. You know that child in the news who was run over in his driveway? I immediately picture that being my child. The child who was tortured for years by her awful parents? I picture that happening to my child. The one who drowned in her mothers arms in the flood? That one too.

It just upsets me. I cant get those awful images out of my head and in the absence of a world where nothing bad ever happens to kids I wish there was a “rosy glow” filter where you could click a button and never again hear about these horrible things happening.

I go home, hug my children just a little bit closer and hope that nothing worse than a skinned knee ever happens to them.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

