intermittentblogger

a freeform blog

Day 03 → Something you have to forgive yourself for

Day 03 → Something you have to forgive yourself for.

Right now the biggest thing I need to forgive myself for is enjoying my 2nd baby so much more than I did my 1st. I feel guilty about the way I parented 1st time round – everything needed to be perfect, I needed to have a clean house, a happy baby, a full-time job etc etc and I made us all completely miserable in the process.

This time round I was selfish and it was wonderful! I took 4 months off work, looked after DestructaBoy and myself and didn’t care one bit about the dishes piling up or whether the family was eating spaghetti on toast for the 3rd day in a row.

But it means that DestructaBoy has had 4 months of full-time attention from a happy, relaxed mom when the Diva only had minimal time with an uptight, anxious, pain in the ass. I wish I could start over with her!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 03 → Something you have to forgive yourself for

  1. I think most first babies get this.
    We never get to start over but we do get to do it differently with them now and make the most of now, no point stressing about what we can’t change.

Leave a Reply

